Graduate Council Meeting Minutes 12:00 pm, Wednesday, March 03, 2021 Zoom

Meeting called to order at 12:00 pm

1) Roll Call (Completed via Zoom Chat and Zoom Participant features)

- Present: M. Insall; D. Oerther; V.P. Reddy; A. Adekpedjou; C. Dagli; C. Chua; C. Kueny; D. Fischer; K. Grote; G. Olbricht; G. Markowsky; V.P. Reddy for J. Winiarz; L. Alagha; L. Gertsch; M. Moats; S. Stanley; R. Verble
- Invited Guests: K. Northcut; C. Tsatsoulis; S. Fayek; S. Raper; W. Yang; X. Yang
- Other Guests: K. Wagner; S. Matson; H. Pham; A. Lueking; S. Fogg

2) Approval of Minutes from February 03, 2021 meeting

- S. Stanley moved to approve; M. Moats seconded. Unanimous approval by raising of hands via Zoom.
- 3) Election for replacement of Dr. S.N. Balakrishnan on the Research Policy Committee (to serve the remaining two years of a three-year term / Drs. Michael Moats, Cihan Dagli, and Leslie Gertsch remain as current members from the Graduate Council until May 2023) – Nominee Below
 - Nominee: Akim Adekpedjou
 - L. Gertsch moved to approve; G. Markowsky seconded. Unanimous approval by raising of hands via Zoom.

4) Update on Graduate Student Bill of Rights Ad Hoc Committee

- Discussion as to the purpose of the Bill of Rights. The primary purpose is "aspirational" to create a sense of the goals of the University. Policies may naturally come from these aspirational goals, but the primary purpose of the Bill of Rights is NOT to be viewed as a policy document.
- 5) Nominations have been requested for the 2020-21 Outstanding Contributions to Graduate Studies and Graduate Staff Excellence Awards. Due to Kathy Wagner via email by March 26, 2021
 - Informational. No discussion.

6) Nominations will soon be requested for the following Faculty Standing Committees

- Informational. No discussion.
 - o Budgetary Affairs One member needed / To be elected at May 2021 Graduate Faculty meeting
 - o Personnel One member needed / To be elected at May 2021 Graduate Faculty meeting
- 7) Nominations will soon be requested for 2021-22 Graduate Faculty President and Secretary (to be elected by the Graduate Faculty at the May 2021 meeting)
 - Informational. No discussion.
- 8) New Business

D. Oerther moved to adjourn. G. Markowsky seconded. Unanimous approval by leaving the meeting.

Meeting adjourned at 12:25 pm